OPO History

The Pearls of Kokomo was officially formed in Kokomo, Indiana on September 23, 1984, after three months of recruitment by Soror Jo Ann Obie. The original members were: Delores Davis, Sharon Grier, Gerry Sroman, Tyjuanna LaBennett, Mattie Daniels and Jo Ann Obie. 

In October of 1984, the Pearls of Kokomo had grown to sixteen, including members from nearby Marion and Indianapolis, Indiana. With hopes of a spring chartering, the Pearls of Kokomo met with Soror Mabel Cason, Central Region Director and on May 18, 1985, the Pearls of Kokomo became the first black Greek-letter sorority established in Kokomo, Indiana, Omicron Phi Omega. The ceremony was conducted by Soror Lorraine Green, Second Supreme Basileus, in the absence of Regional Director, Mabel E. Cason. 

Following the chattering and installation of officers, a “Pink and Green” reception dinner was held. Kokomo’s Mayor Stephen Daily was on hand to give the official welcome along with rev. Robert Lee of Second Missionary Baptist Church and Robert Kirk of Wayman A.M.E. Methodist Church. Sorors of Alpha Mu Omega of Indianapolis, IN and Sigma Omega Chapter of Cincinnati, Ohio attended.

Omicron Phi Omega Chapter had earned the right, privilege, and responsibility of becoming a graduate chapter of the nation’s oldest and most esteemed black sorority, Alpha Kappa Alpha. 

The following sorors are the charter members of Omicron Phi Omega:

Jeannetta Burbridge

Tyjuanna R. Strickland LaBennett

Jacqueline Bellamy Cole

Alice Ruth Burns Marshall

Mattie Louise McGill Daniels

Mary Ann Liggin Nolcox

Ethel Delores Griffin Davis

Jo Ann Ward Obie

Kathryn Kuykendolph Donald

Kimberly Ann Queen 

Tova Jaselle Ellison

Narvie Kennedy Scott

Sharon Lee Crew Grier

Gerry frances Gunnings Stroman

Cherresa Vernea Johnson

Frances R. Foster Gibbons Sweatt 

35th Anniversary
Omicron phi omega chapter

of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority , Inc.

Pearls of Kokomo

May 18th, 1985

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Contact Us

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.

Omicron Phi Omega Chapter

PO Box 2574 

Kokomo, Indiana 46902

765 860-4835

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated® is not responsible for the design and content of these web pages.They are the sole property and responsibility of the Omicron Phi Omega Chapter who hosts and maintains this web site.

© Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated. Proudly Designed by Cymbol Design